eArc Review: Lore by Alexandra Bracken

“Bind Your Fate To Mine”

Lore by Alexandra Bracken

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy – Mythology

Release Date: January 5, 2021

Published By: Disney-Hyperion

Find it: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Every seven years, the Agon begins. As punishment for a past rebellion, nine Greek gods are forced to walk the earth as mortals, hunted by the descendants of ancient bloodlines, all eager to kill a god and seize their divine power and immortality.


Long ago, Lore Perseous fled that brutal world in the wake of her family’s sadistic murder by a rival line, turning her back on the hunt’s promises of eternal glory. For years she’s pushed away any thought of revenge against the man–now a god–responsible for their deaths.

Yet as the next hunt dawns over New York City, two participants seek out her help: Castor, a childhood friend of Lore believed long dead, and a gravely wounded Athena, among the last of the original gods.

The goddess offers an alliance against their mutual enemy and, at last, a way for Lore to leave the Agon behind forever. But Lore’s decision to bind her fate to Athena’s and rejoin the hunt will come at a deadly cost–and still may not be enough to stop the rise of a new god with the power to bring humanity to its knees.

5 Stars/10 CAWPILE

Thank you to Netgalley and the Publisher for sending me this eArc in exchange for an honest review! 

“It’s okay to want good things […] and to believe that you deserve a good life” 

I absolutely freaking adored this book!! I loved how the author blended Greek Mythology with The Hunger Games and brilliantly weaved it into a modern New York City setting. Everything about this worked; from a complex plot and strategic execution, to the detailed characters and their relationships; all of it was believable. And normally I’m not a fan of the childhood friends to lover’s trope, but this one was done so well. I loved that Lore was a strong, independent woman and the boy was soft and lovable and just wanted to help. His transformation was glorious to read. I loved learning all about the different types of magic and all the different artifacts; how they fit with each of the different clans.  

I cannot recommend this book enough. I’ve sung its praises to everyone I know and I’ll keep doing so. 

Okay, like seriously, I cannot scream good things about this book enough. I absolutely loved it. I just wish it wasn’t a standalone! I need me some more Lore and Castor!!! Do yourselves a favor and run, hop, skip, jump to Barnes and Noble or go to Amazon and get this book. You won’t regret it! If you’ve read it already, let me know your thoughts in the comments below, or if you just need someone to squeal with. And as always, happy reading my friends!

One thought on “eArc Review: Lore by Alexandra Bracken

Leave a comment